Narrow River – Wide Sky

In the vein of The Liar’s Club and The Glass Castle, Jenny Forrester’s memoir perfectly captures both place and a community situated on the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, where she grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide trailer proudly displaying an American flag. Forrester’s powerfully eloquent story reveals a rural small town comprising God-fearing Republicans, ranchers, Mormons, and Native Americans. With sensitivity and resilience, Forrester navigates feelings of isolation, an abusive boyfriend, sexual assault, and a failed college attempt to forge a separate identity. As young adults, after their mother’s accidental death, Forrester and her brother are left with an increasingly strained relationship that becomes a microcosm of America’s political landscape. Narrow River, Wide Sky is a breathtaking, determinedly truthful story about one woman’s search for identity within the mythology of family and America itself.

High Country News

A review at High Country News here. A review on the book Narrow River, Wide Sky: A Memoir.

When Your Book’s at Target!

This is so exciting! The book’s selling at Target. The book’s also available at the airport! Much thanks to everyone for making wonderful things happen for this story.  

Reviews and Interviews – Updated

With deepest gratitude to everyone who’s sent me wonderful messages and said beautiful things after reading the book. Thank you to interviewers and booksellers and everyone who’s supported this project and supported me.

Love to All These Indie Bookshops!

On the month long book tour, I visited so many wonderful book stores in the western states. I’m so grateful!

The Oregonian!

Author Q&A: Jenny Forrester of Portland’s Unchaste Readers series discusses new memoir with Amy Wang from The Oregonian

Book Launch!

The book launch was an incredible experience. Standing room only in the Pearl Room at Powell’s and then a standing ovation. I cried and not just because I’m a crier. Thank you all so much!

Scroll to Top